View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2004, 10:16pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by David B
Had one of those first tonight and thought I'd share just to make sure that you don't get caught like I did.

Batter squares to bunt and bunts the ball directly to the ground where it bounces straight up and hits the bat again.

I immediately called foul ball and no one said anything except a fan who said "you can't hit it twice JJ".

But as I thought about it, the batter did not intentionally hit the ball with the bat and the ball was in fair territory, so we should have had a fair ball and nothing else except for ???'s from the defense.

But, the batter is also in the batter's box. So I remember in FED that this makes it a foul ball.

So my question since I don't have my OBR books/manuals etc., at home, is this ruling the same in OBR.

FED covers it in 8-4-1d EXCEPTION.

We also had another bunt which was three feet foul and suddenly hits something and bounces back fair. Just a reminder for all of those umps who keep calling the ball foul as soon as it leaves the bat. (my partner did this three times in the first game)

Thanks for the help
David


Item 100 in 2004 BRD. OBR: Point not covered. OFF INTERP 71-100: FITZPATRICK: Same as FED. I was BU in a HS game early in the year and called this from the B (runner on 1B). Offensive coach put up a mild arguement, because the play would have resulted in an out. I did not think about it, it was an instant instinctive call. It had no bearing on the game, but when I got home I looked it up.
Reply With Quote