View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2004, 03:46pm
Kaliix Kaliix is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Bob,
I take you at your word that this is the proper rule to use in the above instance.

For a newbie like myself, is there somewhere that I could refer that gives guidance on when 6.06 ends (in terms of the catcher catching the pitch) or is this just an accepted interpretation of the rules?

Any help would be appreciated.



Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Kaliix
How do you reconcile the two rules. Interference itself does not provide for intent, neither does 6.06(c) but 7.09(l)does. Yet 6.06(c) speaks directly to the play at hand.

Hummm???
One way to reconcile them is to accept (as Pete implied) that 6.06(c) applies only when F2 catches the pitch and immediately makes a play.

If it's a passed ball (or wild pitch), the 6.06(c) doesn't apply. It's not "batters interference" anymore; it's "interference with a thrown ball" -- and that, as indicated in 7.09(l), requires intent.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote