View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2004, 02:04pm
Kaliix Kaliix is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
Found the rule on intent:

7.09
It is interference by a batter or a runner when:
(l) He fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball, or intentionally interferes with a thrown ball, provided that if two or more fielders attempt to field a batted ball, and the runner comes in contact with one or more of them, the umpire shall determine which fielder is entitled to the benefit of this rule, and shall not declare the runner out for coming in contact with a fielder other than the one the umpire determines to be entitled to field such a ball...

How do you reconcile the two rules. Interference itself does not provide for intent, neither does 6.06(c) but 7.09(l)does. Yet 6.06(c) speaks directly to the play at hand.

Hummm???
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote