Quote:
Originally posted by dhodges007
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by cingram
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by cingram
|
Luckily I have not experienced a whistling coach. What I would probably do would depend on reaction of the players (almost like an inadvertant horn going during play). If the defense or offence stops playing in some way I may blow it dead and resume with a throw in from the closest spot out of bounds. I would not allow subs unless it were for an injured player.
If a player travelled because he thought the whistle went - blow it dead and give it back to his/her team.
|
What rule are you using to back up either of these proposed actions?
|
Whatever rule allows us to make a decision on something not specifically covered in the rules. (argh, don't have my rule books with me)
What would you do if there was an in-advertant horn (scorekeeper accidentally hits it or hits it after you've handed the ball to someone to throw in) and the offence or defence (or both) stop playing?
|
If you have an inadvertant horn, you simply follow the rule covering it. In this case, case book play 2.11.3 tells you what procedure to follow for inadvertant horns. What you can't do is make up your own rules. In the above plays, the rules do allow you to T up the coach if you feel that his whistling constituted an unsporting act and thus gave his team an illegal advantage. The rules do not allow you to negate violations however. [/B]
|
Good grief, leave him alone. I am willing to bet that you would do the same thing because your common sense would tell you too.

[/B][/QUOTE]Nope, I wouldn't do the same thing. Say that you did cancel a travelling violation because a coach whistled, and you then gave the ball back OOB to the team that committed that violation. After the game, the coach that whistled hands in a written complaint to your association about that exact same call. Hodgy, you have to answer that complaint. How do you do that now? Do you say that there's no rule against it, but I didn't think it was "fair"? Then you hear the obvious "Well if you thought it wasn't fair, then why didn't you just give the coach a T? You coulda maybe justified that by the rule book". Iow, how does your association explain your act?
If a player's has a breakaway, and an opponent behind him then hollers at him, stamps his feet, whistles, etc., are you gonna stop the play if the player misses the layup and then give his team the ball back OOB? Or are you gonna T up the opponent instead? Or just let the play go because there's no rule against it.