Quote:
Originally posted by Bluefoot
It's Rule 7, Section 3, citation A. But the book offers no penalty for violation of this rule. What is the correct procedure to follow if a batter has part of a foot outside the lines prior to a pitch? Should the umpire tell the batter to get in the box, and if he fails to do so, call a strike?
|
Correct. A goes with B. Direct the batter to get in the box. If the batter does not, call a strike and repeat the direction to the batter to get in the box.
Quote:
Originally posted by Bluefoot
Also, what if the batter has the ball of one foot on the line of the box, with the heel of the same foot up in the air outside the batter's box? Is the batter's foot considered to be outside of the box, even if that part of the foot is not touching the ground?
Thanks.
|
As long as no part of the foot is on the ground across the lines, the batter is legal.