Thread: ASA Rules?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2004, 09:48am
Bluefoot Bluefoot is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
It's Rule 7, Section 3, citation A. But the book offers no penalty for violation of this rule. What is the correct procedure to follow if a batter has part of a foot outside the lines prior to a pitch? Should the umpire tell the batter to get in the box, and if he fails to do so, call a strike?

Also, what if the batter has the ball of one foot on the line of the box, with the heel of the same foot up in the air outside the batter's box? Is the batter's foot considered to be outside of the box, even if that part of the foot is not touching the ground?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote