1st of two questions today, from a long tournament weekend that had me doubting the simplest of things on occasion ...
High pop-up, should end up fair, between the pitchers plate and about half way up the 1st base line.
F3 just standing there watching so, at the last moment, the pitcher runs towards 1st base line to try to catch it.
Pitcher is running bent over, ball hits glove in fair territory and slowly rolls out of play (into the feet of the players sitting on the bench
the dugout, although there was no fencing around them).
Now, the batter-runner is already at 1st when the ball rolls into the dugout.
Coach says batter-runner should get third, a two base award from the time the ball went into the dugout, because the ball deflected off the pitchers glove (i.e. no throw).
I said in this case, because there was no throw and it bounced off her glove in fair territory, it is 2 bases from the time of the pitch, and so I gave this batter 2nd base.
I based that on our CSA rule that says:
"When a fair ball bounds or rolls into a stand, over, under or through a fence, out of play unintentionally off a defensive player, or leaves the boundaries of the playing field after touching the ground in fair territory.
EFFECT: Dead ball. All runners awarded 2 bases from the time of the pitch."
I was right, right ?
__________________
bobbrix
|