Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by pyitejam Hey Guys.  new to the board.  trying to learn as much as i can.  had the look back rule called on the 3rd out to end a game.  BR was standing a few feet off 3rd base. No circle is painted on the field.  Is it just assumed that there is a 8 foot circle around the mound no matter what??  I understand the rule and have just learned of it today but I agree with the call, though not to end a game that is hotly contested.
 
 | 
	
 Wow! Talking about dredging up an old thread! 2 1/2 years old!!
WARNING - The ASA lookback rule has changed just a bit from when this discussion took place!
But, to answer your question, the 8-foot circle is always there (speaking fastpitch), but if it is unmarked, then whether the pitcher is inside the circle is a matter of umpire judgment.