Originally posted by jumpmaster
R2, R3, 1 out. Ground ball to F6, R2 runs OVER F6 going to third. F6 recovers and throws to 1st base for an out on the BR. R3 scores before BR is thrown out at first. What is the ruling?
One of our most Important jobs as Blues is to KNOW when the ball is either Delayed Dead (wait until playing action is over before enforcing) or IMMEDIATELY Dead (Enforce right away).
Unfortunately the OBR rule-book does not have a nice neat table to reference. One has to make their own list. The FED rule-book has a Table of when the Ball is Immediate vs. delayed dead.
99% of the Interference calls the Ball is IMMEDIATELY Dead.
Here's the Call in your play.
As soon as you judge interference the call is
1. TIME
2. That's Interference
3. Somebody is out namely R2
In OBR if you felt that R2 ran into F6 Willfully and Deliberately to prevent a DP you could call 2 outs (This would be a rarity in an OBR Game)
In FED, the terminology Willfully / Deliberately is absent, so if you judged that F6 could have tagged R2 and threw to F3 to get B1, record 2 on this play.
Normally with R2/R3 is not a DP situation, so under both sets of rules, the call would most likely be 2 outs,
R3 (if he/she scored) back to third, R2 is out on the interference and B1 to first.
Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
|