007
I was enjoying your post until you made a fatal error . . .
Mr. Thurston of NCAA made the following ruling last year that shoots a great big whole in your logic:
Play.
As R2 is advancing towards third base and R1 towards second a wild throw passes F5. F1 is in good position to back up the play but falls . . . his feet are clearly in DBT but the major part of his body is in the field of play.
F1 DOES NOT CATCH the ball but simply blocks it back into the field of play.
Ruling:
Since the player does not 'capture'the ball and the majority of his body is in the field of play the ball is alive and in play.
A player must establish himself "out of play" to be "out of play".
I appreciate your attempt. But Carl is "Nuts ON!" on this one.
Tee
|