
Tue Jun 01, 2004, 04:51am
|
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Two scenarios involving "screening," one offense, one defense.
....
2. B is in a 2-3 zone. Ball is on the left wing. A1 is just outside the left block. B1 is fronting A1, B2 has slid over behind A1, but is playing in a help position (A3 is in the right block), so continues to face the top of the key rather than toward A1. Order of players is B1, A1, B2, with B2 not facing A1 and therefore "screening" her. A2 on wing attempts an ill-advised lob to A1. As A1 extends a hand and begins to step toward hoop to catch ball, she collides with B2, again not getting a full step. Is B2 guarding, standing, or setting a blind screen. How do you decide?
|
1) Correct, it's an illegal screen as per Rule 4-39-4 and 10-6-3(a).
2) B2 is guarding in this play, imo. She meets the definition of "guarding" in R4-23-1- "Guarding is the act of LEGALLY placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent". B2, in other words, is ILLEGALLY guarding A1 because she didn't give A1 a step. Casebook play 10.6.2SitB says that screening principles do apply to offensive players also- "Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear.". Note that it says "principles", but doesn't actually label the dribbler's action a "screen", by definition. Weird semantics, but appropriate, I think. Anyhoo....iow, when you apply these screening principles to A1, B2 is now illegally guarding A1 by (1)not giving A1 a full step when B1 set up behind A1 and outside her vision, and(2)never obtaining an initial legal guarding position(she's turned t'other way). Now, if B2 was more than a step away, then A1 would be responsible for the contact. In that case, B2 wasn't facing A1- so she isn't guarding or screening. However, she does have a right to her legal position on the court, so A1 is responsible for any contact that occurs.
|
If what you say were true, you could never guard someone who is posting up. They have their back to you. They move one way and you move to adjust but you'd have to give them a step if they never turned their head. I don't think so. Guarding a stationary opponent requires no time or distance....blind or not.
|
Man, this thread is getting confusing.
Camron, in Juulie's play above, A1 did NOT have the ball- i.e. lob being thrown into her. The point that I was trying to make, and I'm not even sure anymore whether it really is applicable to Juulie's exact case above, is that a "help" defender switching over to a pivot player on a lob MUST give time and distance-similar to a screen. Once A1 has the ball however, time and distance no longer apply(as long as A1 wasn't in the air when she received the lob naturally). Casebook plays 10.6.3SitC&D. If the defensive player wasn't switching over, but was just standing there, then they are entitled to their spot on the floor.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 1st, 2004 at 05:53 AM]
|