Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
The questionable play would be when a defender sets what would be a legal screen if offense set it, but does not establish legal guarding position. I can see that it wouldn't happen very often, but it does appear by the wording of the rules to be possible. The question is, what's the ruling?
So B4 leaves time and distance and stands stock still, but isn't facing the opponent. Legal screen if offense does this, but there's no legal guarding position, because B4 is facing sideways. If there's contact, who's the foul on?
|
If B4 got there first legally they are entitled to that spot on the floor. If you use that and the regular guarding rules there is no problem.
The rule book is full of these little semantic loopholes, and the harder you make them, the harder it gets to apply the rules.
Take JR's advice and keep it simple.