View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 29, 2004, 11:17am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Two scenarios involving "screening," one offense, one defense.

1. A1 just outside the left block, B1 guarding, A2 comes from right block to set a blind screen (order of players from left to right is A1, B1, A2). A1 starts to cut, B1 gets hit by A2's blind screen without getting a full step. By my reading of the rules, outside the visual field of the player, A2 must give B1 one free step to avoid the screen, so this is a foul on A2. Is this correct?

2. B is in a 2-3 zone. Ball is on the left wing. A1 is just outside the left block. B1 is fronting A1, B2 has slid over behind A1, but is playing in a help position (A3 is in the right block), so continues to face the top of the key rather than toward A1. Order of players is B1, A1, B2, with B2 not facing A1 and therefore "screening" her. A2 on wing attempts an ill-advised lob to A1. As A1 extends a hand and begins to step toward hoop to catch ball, she collides with B2, again not getting a full step. Is B2 guarding, standing, or setting a blind screen. How do you decide?
1) Correct, it's an illegal screen as per Rule 4-39-4 and 10-6-3(a).

2) B2 is guarding in this play, imo. She meets the definition of "guarding" in R4-23-1- "Guarding is the act of LEGALLY placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent". B2, in other words, is ILLEGALLY guarding A1 because she didn't give A1 a step. Casebook play 10.6.2SitB says that screening principles do apply to offensive players also- "Screening principles apply to the dribbler who attempts to cut off an opponent who is approaching in a different path from the rear.". Note that it says "principles", but doesn't actually label the dribbler's action a "screen", by definition. Weird semantics, but appropriate, I think. Anyhoo....iow, when you apply these screening principles to A1, B2 is now illegally guarding A1 by (1)not giving A1 a full step when B1 set up behind A1 and outside her vision, and(2)never obtaining an initial legal guarding position(she's turned t'other way). Now, if B2 was more than a step away, then A1 would be responsible for the contact. In that case, B2 wasn't facing A1- so she isn't guarding or screening. However, she does have a right to her legal position on the court, so A1 is responsible for any contact that occurs.

As I said before, I use "guarding" for defensive players and "screening" for offensive players. The rules fit for all cases, as far as I know, even with the grey area in the rulebook definition of "screening". That makes it fairly simple, and simple is better, imo.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 29th, 2004 at 12:21 PM]
Reply With Quote