View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 26, 2004, 07:48am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by ozzy6900
I am a little confused here. My son umpired a Babe Ruth game last weekend. The home coach is a FED umpire and a good egg. However, when he asked for time to visit his pitcher, he would not cross the foul line. His pitcher & catcher had the meeting at the line like LL used to be. My son (UIC) instructed them to have the meeting on the mound as stipulated in the BR manual & OBR. The coach stated that he does not cross the line because in his opinion, he does not belong there "between the lines belongs to the players". The discussion was quiet (my son informed me of the conversation later) and he allowed the meeting to continue.

Now I am a rules guy so in my opinion, he has to meet on the mound or we don't know when the meeting is officially over (OBR 8.06 - BR also). What is the opinion of my brothers out there?
My first reaction was "I don't care if they meet in the dugout", but I looked it up for the educational value. In FED, "a defensive charged conference is concluded when the coach or non-playing representative crosses the foul line if the conference was in fair territory. If the conference was in foul territory, the conference concludes when the coach or non-playing representative initially starts to return to the dugout/bench area". OBR only refers to visits to the mound, but there is a rule to cover it, 9.01(c), so IMO a conference at the foul line is fine with me. Howevever, in the show, I just can't see Roger Clemens going to the foul line to meet with the skipper.
Reply With Quote