Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Thats just a judgement call. With the first runner coming home, there is going to be contact. You just have to judge weather the runner intentionally interfeared. If you are unsure about what to call, go with the no call.
|
Interference does not have to be intentional, but with a runner sliding into home I can easily seem him being in the way of the catcher trying to pick up a dropped ball, and not have any choice, ie can't move any faster than he is moving to get out of the way. This would be pure judgement on the umpire but from the description I would not likely call interference unless it appeared to be intentional. I assume if it appeared intentional you would not be asking this question.