Quote:
Originally posted by scyguy
This post is concerning FED rules
I am not sure I fully understand this rule, it is as follows:
Each runner other than the batter-runner (who is governed by 8-1-2) is awarded one base when:
c: he is attempting to steal or he is forced from the base he occupies by a batter-runner or runner who must advance because the catcher or any fielder obstructs the batter, such as stepping on or across home or pushing the batter to reach the pitch or touching the bat (8-1-1e).
How does this rule differ from 8-1-1e? For example, if you have a runner at third stealing home, runner at second not attempting to steal, catcher comes out of the box after time of pitch, catches ball before it has the opportunity to cross the plate, then tags runner. We have catcher obstruction, but do we award the batter first? The catcher made NO contact with the batter. Would this situation fall under the above rule and make it different from 8-1-1e? If so, then we would have to award the runner at second third, right?
|
Rule 8.1.1.e deals with the Batter-Runner, while 8.3.1 deals with the Runner.
The batter is awarded first in accordance with 8.1.1.e. The catcher is not allowed to catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. Not sure where rule on this is however case 8.1.1 Sit F: (2003) Case book makes reference to this.
The batter-runner is goverened by 8.1.1.e and the runners are goverened by rule 8.3.1.c. The runner on second can ONLY advance if he is stealing or is forced to vacate because a follwing runner is forced to advance. Otherwise he stays at 2nd.