My inclination, based on how your described it, would be to consider it fighting under rule 4-18...call a flagrant foul...and disqualify the culprit. Specifically because you described it as "calculated, cold-blooded vengeance." It wouldn't matter that it missed or wasn't good form. It seems it was clearly "an attempt to strike, punch..."
Now, how you define "strike" could change from time to time. For example, last year in a varsity game, my son and a player from the other team got tangled up as they turned to run to the other end. My son extended both arms (which were entangled with the other players) and "pushed" the other player away from him. Ref. blows whistle -- Intentional Foul. I thought good call. I guess someone could have said it should be flagrant.
|