Quote:
Originally posted by Jay Gilstrap
The only correct decision made was that the run did score. The runner who made it to third was told to go back to second by the third base coach. The runner at second did not go back, he was called out because of a force out (remember, the "umpire" called the fly out, and the runner left base supposedly (as interpreted by the "umpire") early---saying he left early because he had not "tagged up" (remember, the ball was not caught, not even close to being caught, not even being close to "allowing the ball to drop")
Oh, by the way, we were being close to the time limit of the game. The "umpire" allowed 5 more minutes to the end of the game because of arguing. That is when the other team came back to win the game.
Jay
|
First of all, the 3B coach should not have told the runner to go back. That was my point about coaches knowing the rules. Secondly (and I mis-read your post, I thought the runner at 2B had been tagged going back to 1B), you should have been able to call time and discuss the ruling with the umpires, point being that it was in error, because runners do not have to tag up on balls that hit the ground regardless of IFF situation. If the umpires would not reverse the call, and your league has provisions for protests, on the basis of rules interpretations, then you could protest. The call on the runner at 2B is definitely a rules interpretation and not a judgement call (ie the IFF call). If you have no protest procedure, and the umpires would not reverse the call then you should mention the call to whatever league official deals with the umpires and hope that this will be discussed with the umpires who work the league, and prevent future occurrence. I hear LL is mostly volunteer umpires so good luck with that...