This is the situation: Bases loaded. No outs. Both teams told the Infield Fly rule in effect by umpire. Batter hits a soft looper past over pitchers' head. Right when the ball left the bat, Umpire calls batter out under IF. Ball hits ground behind pitcher without even coming close to being caught. (BALL WAS NOT CAUGHT, EVEN TOUCHED BY OPPOSING TEAM) All 3 runners advance. The kid who got to third was told to get back to 2nd because of IF, then tagged out by shortstop. Ball was then thrown to 1st base where 1B tagged the base, runner being called out! TRIPLE PLAY, without the ball even being caught! Imagine that! Besides being one frustrated parent (oh by the way, we lost the game), what recourse should I pursue on this matter? The "Umpire" needs to know this rule, how it is in effect, what it means, and what happens when the ball is not even caught. Please advise,
Thanks, Jay Gilstrap
|