Thread: Why or Why not?
View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 04, 2004, 05:52pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
A question came up about a play.

A1 rolls the ball on the floor and recovers the ball.

Does this fit the definition of a dribble? If not, what is it? Can it be repeated?

I am interested in your rulings and why.

There is nothing in the rule book that prohibits a player rolling a ball. Rolling the ball does not meet the definition of a dribble. The player is not batting or pushing the ball to the floor once or several times, as per the definition of a dribble in NFHS R4-15-1. Legal play- no rule against it, and the existing rules do not cover it.
Reply With Quote