Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
From 2004 Fed Interpretations:
SITUATION 20: As B1 bunts, F2 fields the ball in front of home plate in fair ground. B1 is running in fair ground as he nears first base. F2 realizes he does not have a line of sight to F3 and tries to lob the ball over B1. F3 leaps but cannot catch the ball. RULING: B1 is out for interference. Although F2 made an errant throw, B1 is guilty of interference by being out of the 3-foot running lane.
|
Which just proves that the NFHS sometimes doesn't have a clue.
|
Combined with situation 19, I think the rule makes sense for HS -- it's up to the umpire to judge whether the throw was bad, or the result of interference.
SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2s throw. (8-4-1g Exception)