Great, lively discussion. I obviously posted the scenario to get at the issue everyone is centering on.
I happen to agree with Mike, and I made up a scenario that I hoped would make it very difficult to make the ruling the rule requires. This ruling just don't seem right.
But, the rule is unequivocal. By "obstructed runner" they mean "the runner who was obstructed" - nothing more or less.
The rule only gives specific exceptions that will allow the runner to be put out between the bases where s/he was obstructed. None of those exceptions apply here.
Is this the runner who was obstructed? Yes.
Was she tagged out between the bases? Yes.
Did any of the exceptions apply? No.
Dead ball; runner returned to 2nd.
That's my view, anyway.
__________________
Tom
|