
Wed Apr 28, 2004, 07:15pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
Quote:
Originally posted by whiskers_ump
|
Quote:
Rick wrote:
Rick,
The runner was not tagged out beyond the base she was protected.
Remember, this is a DDB call. She was not going to reach 3B
as stated in originial post. The play was still live when she
returned to 2B. Therefore she was not tagged out
beyond the protection the umpire had preceived. She was tagged
after retouching 2B and prior to reaching 1B, and OBS was between
1B and 2B. She cannot be put out between these bases.
JMHO.
[/B]
|
I understand the part about the not being tagged out beyond the base she was protected to. BUT once she got to the base she would have been protected to, the OBS signal should have been dropped, as well as the penalty for OBS.
__________________________________________________ ____
Answ.
The protection is still there until the play comes to its conclusion.
__________________________________________________ _____
The OBS is now a moot point. It is still a live ball at this moment.
__________________________________________________ ______
Answ.
It was a live ball during the entire play...DDB call.
__________________________________________________ _______
The key question to my posts I guess, is why would the OBS go back into effect after it became a moot point? I'm not questioning the rule about not being put out between the bases she was obstructed on, I'm just wondering why the OBS went back into effect.[/B]
__________________________________________________ ______
Answ.
It did not go "back into effect", it was still there.
[/B]
|
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
|