Rick wrote:
"But, Mike, this is my point, or question. Why would the obstruction still be in effect if the runner has achieved the base you would award. If it isn't in effect, why would it matter where she was tagged? I see no place where it talks about the OBS being reinstated. I can see your point about forces being reinstated, they gotta go somewhere again. But this runner isn't forced to do anything. Does the case book address anything about when the OBS quits being in effect? I've always thought it was negated when the base is achieved that the blue would award her. Now, this is a stretch and a bit ludicrous, but going by the situation and your ruling on it, would she be called out the next time she batted and was tagged out between 1st and 2nd. To me, it seems like the same thing."
____________________________________
Rick,
The runner was not tagged out beyond the base she was protected.
Remember, this is a DDB call. She was not going to reach 3B
as stated in originial post. The play was still live when she
returned to 2B. Therefore she was not tagged out
beyond the protection the umpire had preceived. She was tagged
after retouching 2B and prior to reaching 1B, and OBS was between
1B and 2B. She cannot be put out between these bases.
JMHO.
BTW Mike, thundersb is the only one that thinks that way. You
know what I am referring to.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
|