View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 03:29pm
Bluefoot Bluefoot is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 209
I'd think that Tex's POE #35 paragraph 5 ruling: "If the obstructed runner is put out after passing the base he would have reached had there not been obstruction, he is running at his own risk and, if tagged, would be called out." is correct...

as opposed to Mike's Rule 8.5.B.1: "an obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed..."

because once the runner reaches 2B he/she is no longer obstructed, so Rule 8.5.B.1 can't apply. (or is the OBS reinstated when the runner retreats back past 2B?)

If the OBS is removed once the runner reaches 2B, then Tex's POE #35 paragraph 5 should apply.

Is that right?
Reply With Quote