View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 27, 2004, 10:03pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan

Also, if the dribbler is able to get his head and shoulders past the defender's torso, the foul is on the DEFENDER.
Not necessarily.
JR, please elaborate.
A dribbler may get his head and shoulders by a defender's torso, but if the defender had established AND maintained a legal guarding position before the contact, and the ensuing contact is now ON the defender's torso, then you gotta call a charge(PC) on the dribbler.

See NFHS rule 10-6-2- If a dribbler, without contact, sufficiently passes an opponent to have head and shoulders in advance of that opponent, the greater responsibility for subsequent contact is on the opponent." Note that it says "greater responsibility", and not "sole" responsibility. The foul is NOT always automatically on the defender, iow.

Make sense?
Reply With Quote