I had a similar situation once in which, after the BR started to 1B on a walk, the runner from 1B started jumping around (changing directions) on her way to 2B to decoy the pitcher, who fell for the ruse and started chasing the runner down. The coach wanted a violation of the lookback rule. I put the runner on 2B, and later wondered about the coach's claim. I posted the question, and the consensus was that the LBR doesn't govern awards.
In your situation, I think it was right to score the run, with OBS your guiding principle.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|