| 
			
			Please help settle an arguement in our local association.  LH pitcher in stretch w/ R1.
 F1 steps at about a 40 degree angle towards first and throws to F3 for a pick-off attempt.  F1s body momentum carries him towards the 1st Base foul line.  PO is successful.
 
 Q:  Is this legal, if so what grounds?
 
 I was a left-handed pitcher in TX in HS and this was a "technique" taught that was successful.  In 4 years of varsity AAA ball, I was never balked for this move.  I believe that there was an interpretation that said this was legal as long as F1 did cross the 45 degee angle.  I know this interpretation is not in the FED rule or case book nor is it in the OBR.  We have a number of Wendelstedt graduates who agree with me.
 
				__________________Alan Roper
 
 Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass
 
 |