Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Originally posted by chasbo
Did a JV game yesterday and the home coach says he's substituting for the flex and I say OK. After home team bats he says to me that the sub for the flex actually batted by mistake. Since visitors didn't notice ( how did they score the at bat?) I let it stand and obviously told him to correct his mistake. Since the flex is in the 10th position, and the sub batted the correct batter should have been B1-lead off batter. Had the visitors caught this in time the lead off batter would have been out and B2 would have been due up correct?
|
Now that I answered the scenario, maybe I should chime in on the question asked.
Quote:
chasbro,
If the FLEX bats, then FLEX (must)bats in #6 (Unannounced Substitute for DP) and B7 properly follows.
After a pitch was thrown to FLEX, FLEX was legal.
|
I don't believe this is right. The Flex is never "legal" unless batting in the #6 hole. In this case, the Flex would be disqualified at any point.
If caught while at bat, B1 would assume the count. If discovered after finishing their turn at bat, B1 would be declared out, the Flex is ruled out, disqualified and any advance by other runners is negated.
If caught after a pitch to the next batter, all play stands, the player is DQ'd, if on base, shall be replaced by a legal substitute or reentry and B7 would assume the count.
[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Apr 15th, 2004 at 10:27 PM]