Thread: Is this a balk?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 02:44pm
Rbn3 Rbn3 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 31
OK I get it now...

I can see the reasoning that the set position deals primarily with delivering pitches not throws to first. Clearly the "case law" determines application of the stature, but the "statute" plain language make it seem that a pitcher "must" stop when going from stretch to set. "The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and (b) come to a complete stop." It would seem logical that if going from stretch to set is a "preliminary movement" the rule requires a stop. The rule does not say "The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and then (b) come to a complete stop, or (c) step toward and throw to a base."
Reply With Quote