Thread: Is this a balk?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 12, 2004, 01:42pm
Rbn3 Rbn3 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 31
Still confused on this...help!!!

The situation presented here starts with the pitcher in the "set position" - by definition he has already stopped.

This still defies my understanding.

The very definition of the set position in the Official Rules includes a "complete stop". Basically the pitcher goes from the stretch to the set position. I interprete the rule to be that once the front foot comes down to the ground when going from the "stretch" to "set", he must come to a complete stop, because this is the "set position" which by definition must include a complete stop. The rules basically state this twice and emphasize it with the statement "This must be enforced." From the stretch and before assuming the set position, of course, a pitcher can step and throw to first. But when is the "set position" really the "set position"? About half the umpires we run across interprete the rule as not requiring a "stop" when throwing to first.

It is "c" in the rule that defies my understanding: ("(c) At any time during the pitcher's preliminary movements and until his natural pitching motion commits him to the pitch, he may throw to any base provided he steps directly toward such base before making the throw. The pitcher shall step "ahead of the throw."). This opens the door to the lack of a stop in the set position with the phrase "at any time". In one place the "stretch" is defined as "preliminary motion". "C" speaks of "preliminary movement". But I do not see how "c" negates "a" and "b".

As a practical matter, I think we must coach the boys to think only one way until they see the "complete stop" - that is, they must think only of returning until they see the stop.

Official Rules: 8.00 The Pitcher
8.01

(b) The Set Position. Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his entire pivot foot on, or in front of, and in contact with, and not off the end of the pitcher's plate, and his other foot in front of the pitcher's plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop. From such Set Position he may deliver the ball to the batter, throw to a base or step backward off the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot. Before assuming Set Position, the pitcher may elect to make any natural preliminary motion such as that known as "the stretch." But if he so elects, he shall come to Set Position before delivering the ball to the batter. After assuming Set Position, any natural motion associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter commits him to the pitch without alteration or interruption. Preparatory to coming to a set position, the pitcher shall have one hand on his side; from this position he shall go to his set position as defined in Rule 8.01 (b) without interruption and in one continuous motion. The whole width of the foot in contact with the rubber must be on the rubber. A pitcher cannot pitch from off the end of the rubber with just the side of his foot touching the rubber. The pitcher, following his stretch, must (a) hold the ball in both hands in front of his body and (b) come to a complete stop. This must be enforced. Umpires should watch this closely. Pitchers are constantly attempting to "beat the rule" in their efforts to hold runners on bases and in cases where the pitcher fails to make a complete "stop" called for in the rules, the umpire should immediately call a "Balk." (c) At any time during the pitcher's preliminary movements and until his natural pitching motion commits him to the pitch, he may throw to any base provided he steps directly toward such base before making the throw. The pitcher shall step "ahead of the throw." A snap throw followed by the step directly toward the base is a balk.
Reply With Quote