Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
1) If the fielder is between the runner and 1st, the runner must "surrender" herself or interference could occur. You can't keep on running straight into the runner with a runner going home.
|
I disagree with the "must surrender" - she must avoid crashing, but a tag by definition involves contact, and generally involves the fielder in some way blocking the runner. The runner can (in addition to surrender) try to run wide (mindful of the 3' rule) or just try to duck or swerve a bit to avoid a crash. Since this is a BR, she may not reverse, though, like other runners.
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
2) If the runner is in foul territory and F3 fielded the ball in fair territory, then went to the foul side to tag the runner, you probably have a train wreck, play ball.
|
Agreed.
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
3) With the situation the same as in 2 and the runner swerves, or drops a shoulder or raises her arms, you have interference.
|
I assume by "swerves" you mean swerves
into the fielder - I agree, and also most likely USC for the swerve / drop shoulder. Probably not USC for waving of arms, though.
Quote:
Originally posted by TexBlue
You just have to take each situation on it's own merits and your own judgement. The situation will change every time. But, just because contact was made while F3 was trying to complete a double play does not always result in interference.
|
Agreed.