View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 05, 2004, 08:27pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Maybe it's just me....

In all other cases, we treat a foul tip the same as a missed swinging strike...

If the batter had missed, he's entitled to try to advance to first base.

Why the general assumption here that he cannot try to advance to first base, just as he'd be able to do had he missed the pitch.

Someone give me a rule reference showing where the foultip negates the ability for a batter to run on a pitch that was not caught.
2.00 A BALL is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter.
If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of Rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.



Given that any other batted ball in such a situation is in play, the general consensus of all the "gurus" is that a foul tip on a bounced pitch is treated as any other batted ball in the same situation. Summary: The status of the ball changes to "batted ball" so the bold text superceeds the underlined text.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote