Re: Re: infield fly rule question
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
An intentionally dropped fly ball (directed from the mitt to the ground) is an immediate dead ball, the batter is out, and no runners can advance. This is true for all hit fly balls and has nothing to do with an infield fly situation - NFHS 8-4-1c, 5-1-1j
|
DTTB is referring to the "intentional drop" rule which is the only rule which is affected by an IF call.
Please note, he cited a Fed rule. It is not true in ASA. Guiding the ball to the ground or trapping it with the glove is nothing, but a risky, yet possibly, beneficial play by the defense.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|