| 
				
				By "when applicable" you mean....
			 
 
			
			Its been said many times that there are no stupid questions.  I may be challenging that rule with this quesiton, but here goes.
 Mike, you said "Any ball not caught in flight by the catcher is considered a D3K (or U3K, as I prefer) when applicable."
 
 By "when applicable" I assume you mean if the batter swings and misses the ball for strike 3 or he/she is caught watching strike three cross the plate.  In the latter case, the umpire would have to have ruled the pitch was a strike.
 
 Are there any other "applicable's" I need to know about?
 
 The reason for my questions is I'm heading up a group of umpires (volunteers) at my Church. We are doing baseball and fast pitch softball. Many of my volunteers have not called ball before.  I do ASA Slow Pitch and have not done fast pitch (yet).  So I need to understand these rules in order to pass them on to my umpires.
 
 Thanks!
 
 
 |