Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by Erik  
Thank you to all those who answered my question, but I have another one. Same situation only the one in possesion of the ball has stopped moving. He/she cannot move again because of the double dribble rule, so they throw the ball at you in order to be able to move again. Is this legal? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 
Yup - watch the next time the inbounder can't make the pass, so he throws it off the defender and it ricochets right OOB.
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				Also, does the five-second rule apply after you have stopped moving, or the whole time you are in possesion, regardless of wether you are idle or not. Thanks again
			
		 | 
	
	
 By moving, do you mean dribbling? There is a 5 second count when you are dribbling (whether stationary or moving), then a SEPARATE 5 second count for holding the ball.