Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
From the original post, the T was given to an assistant coach after the buzzer. There was no other "related activity" that would have delayed the ending of the second quarter. Therefore the buzzer (horn) definitely ended the second quarter. The exceptions in articles 1,2 & 3 of R 5-6 therefore aren't germane or applicable. This sitch completely fits the description of R5-6-4 though- "If a technical foul occurs AFTER the ball has become DEAD to END a quarter...". Iow, all of the activity related to this situation occurred AFTER the second quarter ended- the T, the FT's, and the throw-in. None of them can possibly be part of the previous quarter then.
|
If you could just focus on that issue and tell me which quarter you believe the FTs were a part of given when the officials administered them, I would be happy.
|
I've already answered that- several times. The problem seems to be that you don't like that answer because it doesn't agree with yours. The FT's were NOT part of the 2nd quarter- in either case. The officials shot them at the wrong end of the intermission, but that doesn't change the fact that they were NOT part of the second quarter by rule. The officials then screwed up by trying to correct something that didn't have to be corrected in the first place, and wasn't correctible by rule anyway. Even though they did screw up and re-shoot the FT's, the end result was that the team did get the 2 FT's that they had coming to them. Why would you now want the officials to completely screw up and give out an AP that isn't justified by any rule in the book?
Also see CMathews' reply.It basically says the same as my response above, but I wanted to add a coupla thoughts.