View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2004, 08:25pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
From the original post, the T was given to an assistant coach after the buzzer. There was no other "related activity" that would have delayed the ending of the second quarter. Therefore the buzzer (horn) definitely ended the second quarter. The exceptions in articles 1,2 & 3 of R 5-6 therefore aren't germane or applicable. This sitch completely fits the description of R5-6-4 though- "If a technical foul occurs AFTER the ball has become DEAD to END a quarter...". Iow, all of the activity related to this situation occurred AFTER the second quarter ended- the T, the FT's, and the throw-in. None of them can possibly be part of the previous quarter then.
JR,
I agree with this 100%. That is clearly the rule and what SHOULD have been done. Unfortunately, it is not what WAS done. That is why I think we have to go to the arrow.
Note that after what you quoted 5-6-4 continues: "...or extra period, the next quarter or extra period is started by administering the free throws." The officials didn't do that. Well, at least not the first time around, I'm not even going to debate their wiping off the original shots and reshooting them.
My whole point is, given that the officials shot the technical foul free throws before the intermission AS IF they were part of the 2nd quarter, even though we know that they 2nd quarter had already ended and that they weren't supposed to be part of it, must we now consider them to have in fact been part of the 2nd quarter? I think so.

If you could just focus on that issue and tell me which quarter you believe the FTs were a part of given when the officials administered them, I would be happy. Thanks.
Reply With Quote