Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Coach Hawks, I think you can't ignore the definition of a legal screen. It appears to me you are setting aside the definition to make your point. In the play we are discussing B1 ran over the opponent. I think you have a foul on B1, IF rule 4-39-5 was met.
|
Define run over. Hard contact by B with A that causes A to fall, with B stopping after making contact, seems to fit the incidental contact rule. It is pretty clear to me, and I am not choosing to ignore a rule. T&D set the conditions for having a legal screen. Once that screen is legally set, B may contact A and the contact is not necessarily illegal. Two different sections of the rules clearly state this fact.
If you choose to interpret that causing a player to fall is the same as failing to stop, that is your perogative. I would say that if you have A1 at top speed and B1 keeping pace, A2 sets legal blind screen (i.e., meeting T&D but outside B1's visual field), B1 may contact A2 pretty hard, and stop after contact, but A2 may go down. Sounds incidental to me by rule.