It amazes me how many people don't understand this play.
I made the same call in a summer tourney prior to this season. The coach, who is the president of the local coaches association thought I was wrong during the game, and had incorrectly penalized his team. He had confused this play with what can legally take place on a throw-in, and politely asked me about it after the game. I discussed both situations with him and explained the rulings. That's one better-informed coach.
The message is getting out, it's just a long educational process.
|