Thread: Kicking game
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2004, 03:41pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Tricky play and after some thought and a few re-reads I will agree 1st and 10 for A at their 21.

It is perfectly legal to strike the ball with the knee, lower leg or foot. Which means there was a legal kick. B56's muff although not intentional occurs past the neutral zone. The fact that the ball rolls behind the line of scrimmage is immaterial because B56 touched the ball beyond the neutral zone expanded (6-2-4). Any subsequent action the ball can be recovered by any memeber of either team.

If this happened in a game there would have to be a conference. The U or maybe a wingman would have to confirm the ball touched B56 past the neutral zone expanded. And, the referee would have to confirm the kick was legal and not a bat -- if the kicker had struck the ball above the knee that would be illegal. Lastly, did A2 advance the ball -- he can recover but not advance.

The clock? Starts on the snap because A was awarded a new series followng a legal kick (3-4-3c).

__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote