Thread: Backcourt
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2004, 02:26pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by eyezen
Posted on another forum, looked in the case book at 9.9.1 and couldn't find anything definite on this play.

Don't really need a casebook play on this one, it's pretty easy to figure out. Take it step-by-step. . .

For a backcourt violation, we need 4 things, right? They are:

1) team control
2) frontcourt status
3) Team A is last to touch before it goes backcourt
4) Team A is first to touch after going backcourt.

So, in your play. . .

Quote:
If a player is in the frontcourt and jumps backcourt to receive a pass from a player in the backcourt, but he is still in the air when he receives the pass, is this a backcourt violation?

There is passing going on, so we have team control (unless it's a throw-in pass). There's #1. When the player jumped from the frontcourt, he had frontcourt status. So when he catches the ball, the ball also has frontcourt status. That's #2. But that's all we have. So no violation at this point.

However, if the player then lands in the backcourt with the ball, #3 and #4 will both be met at the same time. And so, we'd have a violation.

Quote:
I always thought the rule was basically everything across, ball and both feet of player, and nothing back.
This person thought wrong, that's all.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote