Saw this posted on another forum, looked in the case book at 9.9.1 and couldn't find anything definite on this play. The closest i could get was 9.9.1.a
Any help?
"If a player is in the frontcourt and jumps backcourt to receive a pass from a player in the backcourt, but he is still in the air when he receives the pass, is this a backcourt violation? I saw this last night, I was sitting on the half-court line and I thought the ball never left the backcourt nor broke the plane. I always thought the rule was basically everything across, ball and both feet of player, and nothing back. My guess is there is more to the rule than that because the call was made by one of the better officials around in my opinion."
[Edited by eyezen on Feb 25th, 2004 at 01:57 PM]
|