Quote:
Originally posted by kentref
I agree that if R's foul is at K's 45, PSK (using the 2003 rules interpretation), would not apply, but the caseplay, as stated, doesn't say where R's foul occurs. I haven't seen the official language for the revised PSK rule, but assuming that PSK now applies "from the snap," my original interpretation would be correct.
|
The part of the PSK rule regarding the spot where foul has occurred has not changed. What has changed is the timing part of the rule. Last year in order for PSK to apply the foul had to occur after the kicked ball crossed the NZ. This year PSK can apply starting when the ball is snapped.
Please remember 5 questions must be answered yes for PSK to apply
1. Was the play a scrimmage kick other then a try?
2. Did the kicked ball cross the NZ?
3. Was the spot of Bs foul beyond the NZ expanded (NFHS) or more then 3 yards beyond the NZ (NCAA)?
4. Did the foul happen prior to the kick ending?
5. Was B in possession of the ball at the end of the play?
If you answer yes to all 5 of these questions the PSK rule applies to the play. Answer no to any one of the questions the PSK rule is not applicable to the play.
Dale Smith