View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2004, 09:12am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by chuck chopper
Do you agree that the ball should have to be "caught" for the Intentional drop to be called. I was always under the impression that if it was guided with an open glove then we could call it intentional.
Speaking ASA, it must be caught and then dropped. (POE 29, 2003)

This always struck me as an odd rule. If the ball is caught and then dropped, isn't that a catch and intentional release? Out anyway. I guess you do have the dead ball issue, which removes any possiblity of further outs on the play (doubling off a runner who left early, that sort of thing).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote