Thread: Two or Three?
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 06, 2001, 11:51am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Suppref
A1 outside the 3 point arc, throws an "alley-oop" pass to A2. A2 never touches it, but it goes in the hoop. Not exactly a try but it was released from behind the arc. In an effort not to draw attention to oneself, do you just give the "touchdown" signal or count it as a duece.
Is this a "rules" question, or a "refereeing" question?

By rule, this counts as two-points in FED. See NFHS 2000-2001 Interpretations, Situation 11.

In practice, I'd have to be sure it wasn't a try before I'd only award two points (but, that said, if I was sure it wasn't a try that's all I'd award).

In NCAA, it's three-points either way (by interpretation).
Reply With Quote