View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 03:04pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Well, it's not a "NOTE", it's an "EXCEPTION". My bad. But anyway, it reads

Quote:
if a player has his/her hand legally in contact with the ball, it is not a violation if such contact with the ball continues after it enters a basket cylinder or if in such action, the player touches the basket. Dunking or stuffing is legal and is not basket interference.
If the contact starts out as legal, then it's ok to bring the ball into the cylinder. Also,

1) the definition of "dunking" does not differentiate between one's own basket and the opponent's basket; and

2) the exception explicitly states that dunking is not BI.

So since it is possible to dunk into the opponents' basket, and the exception tells us that dunking is not BI, I'm going with count the dunk and there's no BI on the play.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote