Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
This call has nothing to do with moving after legal gaurding position was established. Only thing to consider is can a player without legal gauring postition still take a charge (PCF)?
|
I would agree with Chuck, the 'right to the spot you're in' is, practically speaking, the general rule, abrogated under special circumstances (guarding a dribbler, screening a moving player, etc.).
The Legal Guarding Position rule focuses in on a very specific interaction (without fully specifying the preconditions), has to do with motion, and has two phases: obtaining and, subsequently, maintaining.
With respect to obtaining position, a block occurs if B(1) moves into dribbler A(1)'s path and fails to get both feet on the ground, torso facing A(1), before contact or before A(1) leaves the floor.
Consider this extreme case. B(1) moves to the foul line at Team A's basket before A(1) crosses half court. B(1) is standing facing A(1)'s basket. A(1) comes down the floor in a straight path and runs directly into B(1). Block?
And another. B(2), who is in proximity to A(1), bounces off B(1) and moves into dribbler A(1)'s path. B(1) is stationary at the time of contact but facing away from A. Block?
And still another. B(1) is guarding A(2). B(2)'s back is towards A(1) who is holding the ball. B(2) is moving when A(1) begins a dribble and makes contact with B(1). Block?
I think the implication of these extremes is that both INTENTION and 'TIME AND DISTANCE' must play a role in characterizing the REAL block/charge.
(The 'maintaining' side of the LGP situation is a lot simpler, and probably adequate.)