My Try at these
[QUOTE] February Quiz [quote]
1. A 1/G B5. Quarterback A12 throws a pass into the end zone. While in the end zone near the end line, B56 jumps and catches the ball while in the air. A88 grabs B56 and prevents him from coming down inbounds. A88 and B56 both first lands out of bounds and A88 retains possession.
A 2/G @ B5 clock on the snap incomplete pass as both need to posses ball inbounds.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
2. A 4/6 A40. At the snap, B79 grabs A56 at the line of scrimmage and pulls him to the A42. This allows B74 to shoot the gap in an attempt to block the punt. The punt rolls to the B15 where B88 picks up the ball and runs to the B45, fumbles and A14 recovers.
Def Holding B79. NOT PSK, in ENZ
Accept: A 1/10 @ 50 clock on the snap
Decline: A 1/10 @ B45 clock on snap
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
3. A 2/G B3. A14 is downed on the B2 and then B67 piles on. A14 retaliates by slugging B67. The fouls have been reported and the ball is being taken to the B2 when A78 commits an unsportsmanlike foul.
A 3/G @ A31 clock on the ready. Mark off each in order:
B67 PF ball @ A1
A14 PF (eject) ball @ A16
A78 USC (record) ball @ A31
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
4. A K/O A35. A4's airborne free kick is controlled by B76 while straddling the sideline on the A43. The ball is actually over the field of play on the A42 when B76 first touches the ball. A88 hits B23 late.
A88 PF (late hit)
B 1/10 @ A28 clock on the snap
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
5. A 4/22 A3. A punts. B89 gives a valid fair catch signal, muffs the ball on the A39 but catches the ball on the A38. B89 is immediately tackled by A87. During the kick, B44 incidentally grasped A84's facemask face on the A32.
B44 Face Mask (5yd) PSK ball @A43
I struggle to give the PF on the muff UNLESS there is time for A87 to see it was caught. By the description, there was not, therefore no foul. I know the rule would have us flagging this, but this is just a good play by A87 getting coverage on a punt, and making sure the ball is secured. {I am sure I will differ wiht many on this interpetation} In my mind, the muff allowed for the chance of a fumble or loose ball. Now if there is a second or 2 for the ball to be cought, then the tackler should see this and not touch him. JMHO.
B 1/10 @ A43 clock on the snap
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
6. A 3/9 B22. The score is A24-B28. Tailback A34 runs off tackle for a touchdown. During the down, A77 blocks defensive end B96 on the B22 and slot back A42 simultaneously blocks the defender at the knees. A flag is thrown. Time expires in the fourth quarter during the down. The Team A coach requests and is granted a head coach's conference.
A42 block below knees (not in "box" at the snap)
A 3/27 @ B37 Replay 1 untimed down. No clock
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~
7. A 2/8 A45. A66 incidentally grasps the facemask of the rushing B77. A15's legal forward pass is intercepted by B44 and returned for a touchdown.
A66 face mask (5 yd)
Accept: discourage.
Decline: B's TD.
Question: Can B have the penality assesed from the suceeding spot in this case? {do not have my book handy for a quick check}
|