View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2001, 08:11pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Okay Mike, I went back and looked up some posts on the McGriff discussion about this play.

The clock did not stop and restart as you suggest. There was no timing error. Shaq was fouled with .4 seconds left on the clock, not 1.1 seconds. The foul prevented him from releasing the shot before the buzzer sounded. However, since the foul occurred prior to time expiring, the shot should have counted and the clock should have stopped immediately. Obviously, there is lag time between the time the foul occurs and when the official blows the whistle.

This is what the officials did. Since the foul occurred prior to the horn sounded, they ruled that the foul occurred with .4 seconds remaining on the clock. The basket counts. Put .4 seconds back on the clock. The reply showed that the officials were correct with regards to the clock and the timing of the foul. Shaq to the line for one FT. He missed the FT and time ran out when the ball was rebounded.

The situation was handled according to NBA rules. There was no mistake in the way the play was handled. Tough luck for the Grizzlies but that's what happens sometimes.

Hope that helps!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote